Each user can be assigned to a specific store and now we have designed a way to “associate” a theme to a store as well. From now on, when a theme is associated to a store only users that have access to that specific store (or users with access to ALL stores) will be allowed to edit the theme that has been associated. On top of that, anytime a store has an active theme – associated or not – that specific theme, while activated, will also be editable by the users assigned to the store.
Your users will be allowed to edit the theme active on their store AND themes associated with their store. This is what will allow you to give them instant access while also letting them have their own docket of editable themes.
How to associate a theme to a store:
You can associate a theme to a store by going to the theme’s global settings and associating it from a drop-down of stores here:
- Only stores that the user has access to see will show in this drop-down – so don’t worry about your users seeing a list of all of your stores.
- Once a theme is associated to the store, the theme can can then be changed by that store’s users like below.
Global Theme Settings> More Actions > Change Theme
You can also change the theme from live design. You can do this by selecting Actions > Change Theme:
This list of selectable themes above are only themes that have been associated to this store as opposed to all the themes in the account. Cool, right!?
Assign a User to a Store
Navigate to Settings > Security > Users and edit the user you wish to assign. You will see the MultiStore Security settings at the bottom of the overlay:
You can choose to grant access to all stores, or you can select specific stores from the drop down and select the golden plus button to add them.
Tip: If you accidentally add the wrong store, you will need to save the page before you can see the icon to remove the store.